Zoosk     

Owning Company: Zoosk, Inc.
Zoosk

Editor Rating

 
7.4
Very Good

Av. User Rating

Price:
Free Basic/ Paid Premium
(See full details)

Editor review

Zoosk 2012-02-23 06:50:19 Morgan Clear
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

"A Fun Social Site, Suitable for Young People"

Summary

The Good: Integration with social networks, good chat application, good mobile app
The Bad: Zoosk tries to get your facebook or gmail password when you sign-up; look for the very tiny “skip” button if you would rather avoid this
The Bottom Line: Zoosk is a good option, especially for the younger, fun-focused crowd.
Editor Rating
 
7.4
Very Good
Member Choice 
 
8.0
Match & Search 
 
7.0
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Privacy & Safety 
 
8.0
Help & Support 
 
5.0

Reviewed by:

Reviewed on:
February 23, 2012
Last updated:
March 02, 2012

Detailed Review

A Social Experience

Zooks was launched at the end of 2007, which is quite late compared to most dating sites. However, because Zoosk was started after the rise of Facebook, it is one of the few sites built with the social experience in mind.

Zoosk.com's homepage


Zoosk allows you to see profiles of local singles on its own site, but it’s unique selling point is the deep integration with social networks (Facebook included). Through the Zoosk site, you can browse profile on the biggest networks, where tens of millions of singles have installed the Zoosk app and are looking for connections.

When you register on Zoosk, you are asked to connect through Facebook or to allow Zoosk to manage your gmail contacts. This can feel a bit invading at first, but it allows Zoosk to pull up your contacts and quickly connect you with friends and friends of friends. Note that if you want to avoid this, there is very tiny “skip this” button in the lower right corner of your screen:



Zoosk.com skip facebook gmail button


The website then suggests you download its Zoosk messenger, which is a special chat application. With it, you can chat with any contact, no matter which website they are on. The app is pretty sleek and install quickly, and we thought that chatting was a quicker and easier way to connect with strangers. It takes less time than email or private messages, and you get reactions in real time.



Zoosk.com messenger download


Connecting

After registering, you are asked to fill the usual details to flesh out your profile. You can use a nickname and do not have to use your real name on Zoosk. You fill a basic profile and get a chance to point out why you are on Zoosk:

Zoosk.com


You can freely browse profiles for free on Zoosk, but note that only premium members have access to all the communications tools on the site.



Zoosk search results page


On the website itself, Zoosk has some tools to help you connect, such as the “Icebreakers”. These are questions you can select; they will be seen by the people willing to contact you, and they can use them to introduce themselves to you. Users are quite active on the site and by private messages:



Zoosk email results communication


We thought he interface on Zoosk was a bit crowded – there are so many icons and options you can be a bit overwhelmed. But after a while, we realized navigation remains quite simple, once you’ve figured out where the few basic links are.

You can do the usual searches for profiles, which by default will be tailored to your age range and area. On Zoosk, profiles are required to have at least one picture, which is a good thing – no profile without pictures like on some other sites! However there is no “quality control” on the pics, and some users put a picture of the sky or of their car. You can always choose to ignore them – we did!

Free Browsing or “ZSMS”

If you get tired of free browsing, you might want to use an algorithm to find more compatible matches. Have a look at the Zoosk Scientific Matching System (“ZSMS”!) which is similar to what eHarmony offers. Fill a few surveys and the website will use your answers to suggest other members who share your values and quirks! Customer support is easy to contact (there are links everywhere) but, as often on big sites, we found that the answers could come a bit quicker. Zoosk is also big on mobile, and also has an app for your android or iphone, again with access to millions of members. You can search and browse profile directly on your phone, and on a mobile device, you can see how close each member is to your present location!

Zoosk.com mobile app for iphone android


Conclusion

Zoosk is a good option, especially for the younger, fun-focused crowd. For those looking for a quieter browsing experience and a more serious audience, we would recommend eHarmony, Perfect Match or Match.

Go to Zoosk

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
 

Stats on Zoosk

Zoosk was launched at the end of 2007 as a 3rd party application for Facebook. It later evolved into its own Dating social network.

Zoosk has made strong ties with other social networks a differentiator for it versus other websites. It can be directly accessed within four social ne...  See Full Summary
Zoosk's
Accreditation
Verisign

Membership Base Size

Active Members Estimate: 11,000,000

Male vs. Female Member Breakout: 53% men | 47% women

Geographic & Language Coverage:

Language(s):
  • Chinese Mandarin (中文)
  • Croatian (Hrvatski)
  • Danish (Dansk)
  • Dutch (Nederlands)
  • English
  • Finnish (Suomi)
  • French (Français)
  • German (Deutsch)
  • Greek (Ελληνικά)
  • Hungarian (Magyar)
  • Italian (Italiano)
  • Japanese (日本語)
  • Korean (한국어)
  • Norwegian (Norsk bokmål)
  • Portuguese (Português)
  • Romanian (Română)
  • Russian (Русский)
  • Serbian (Srpski)
  • Spanish (Español)
  • Swedish (Svenska)
  • Taiwanese (中文台灣)
  • Thai (ไทย)
  • Turkish (Türkçe)

Relationship Type, Status and Needs Served:

Relationship Status(es): Single
Relationship Type(s): Straight
Looking For:
  • Dating
  • Friendship
(Learn how our estimates are created)
Last Updated: February 23, 2012

Free vs. Paid Access to Features

You can access 70% of the functionality on this site before payment is required.
(See feature breakout)

Benefits of Premium Upgrade

This site uses a credits-based premium upgrade system.

Zoosk uses a system of coins for credits to purchase premium services on the site.

Cost:
· $2.99 for 50 coins ($0.06 / coin).

· $2.99 for 50 coins ($0.06 / coin).
· $29.99 for 750 coins ($0.04 / coin).

Accepted Payment Methods

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Discover
  • Paypal
  • Mobile Payment (SMS)
  • Diner's International

Pricing Data Last Updated: February 23, 2012

Feature When You Can Access it
Free
Unregistered
Free
Registered
Paid
Basic
Paid
Premium
N/A
Match & Search
1. Search Profiles
2. Match Assessment/ Personality Test
Creating & Viewing Profiles
3. View Partial Profile
4. View Full Profile
5. Create Profile
Communication & Messaging
6. Send/ Receive Messages
(Restricted)
7. Send/ Receive Messages
(Unrestricted)
8. Send Icebreakers
(Flirt/ Winks/ Pokes/ Gifts)
9. Chat/ Instant Messaging
10. Video Chat
11. Forums/ Discussion Groups
Privacy & Safety
12. Block Other Members
13. View Who Visits Your Profile
14. Hide Visits to Others Profiles
Other Services
15. Dating Advice
16. People Nearby
Do you have a question about this dating site? Get it answered by our editors.
Send Dating Site Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted

User reviews for Zoosk

5 User Review(s)

Average User Rating

 
5.9
Share your thoughts with other users:
Ratings (the higher the better)
Member Choice*  
How large? How active? How relevant is the membership base?
Match & Search*  
How effective is matching and searching for the right person?
Ease of Use*  
How easy is the interface to use? Does it facilitate or hinder communication?
Privacy & Safety*  
How secure is the service? Can you protect your privacy?
Help & Support*  
Is the support responsive? Do they provide helpful advice?
Main Review Field
Type your review into the area below.
Are you male or female?
 Male
 Female
    Please enter the security code.
 

Most Helpful User Reviews

 
Zoosk 2012-06-15 19:21:40 ybnormal
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
1.0

"Skip on Zoosk"

Reviewed by ybnormal on June 15, 2012
I've subsribed to 5 different sites to date. Zoosk is one of the worst. Poor interface, limited search criteria, and the matching support the site automatically provides is inept at best. The IM interface is incredbily clunky and doesn't work most of the time, resulting in "messages" piling up in your sent or in box folder. There are no criteria for body type, so you end up with the typical overweight match (sorry..but this is the case for the US in general). Technical support is non-existant. You can NOT email them for support and there is no on line support. Only a phone number with limited call in times. I've experienced inoperable link buttons, blank screens, lost messages, and many other issues with the site. To top it off, they have "invisible" picture posting rules that aren't specified in the posting guidelines they offer you. For instance, if you are a male and take post a picture of you indoors with your shirt off, they ban it. However, a female in bra and panties inside is ok. Having spoken to them personally about this, they state that "some members complain about this so we are sensitive to it", yet they neglect to update their own guidelines. There is no form of profile verification on the site, so scammers love to frequent it. Last, the pricing is rediculous for the circa 2000 software they are using. You should pass this site by...no question. My vote: OK Cupid or perhaps Match.com. They both have a large susbsription base, and all the features Zoosk neglects to offer their subsribers, at a lower price. If I had to choose a number 1, it would be OK Cupid. Good luck!

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
Zoosk 2012-02-25 10:47:32 Mike
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
8.0

"Zoosk is DA BOMB!!!!"

Reviewed by Mike on February 25, 2012
Last updated: February 25, 2012
zoosk is what the internet was designed for lol....join the party! we dont bite!!!

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
Zoosk 2012-02-23 11:42:17 AZEric
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
7.2

"Mindless fun"

Reviewed by AZEric on February 23, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
If you want to browse lots of profile and have fun with it, Zoosk is maybe the best option, after Badoo. I dig!

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
Zoosk 2012-02-24 11:45:32 MiamiNina
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
6.7

"Good"

Reviewed by MiamiNina on February 24, 2012
I have an account here and also on badoo. Both are good sites I think. Maybe I like Zoosk a little better but really they're quite similar...

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
Zoosk 2012-02-24 11:48:59 TinaGrin
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
6.6

"Too many one-liners..."

Reviewed by TinaGrin on February 24, 2012
The attention you get as a girl is too much. I get 20 messages a day on average. And most are one-liners like "hi"....I don't know what guys expect sometimes... But once in a while I get a nice message and check the profile, sometimes we get talking. I only look at it during work hours so i guess i'm not wasting any time anyway LMAO

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)