SpeedDate     

Owning Company: SpeedDate Inc.
SpeedDate

Editor Rating

 
2.4
Terrible

Av. User Rating

Price:
Free Basic/ Paid Premium
(See full details)

Editor review

SpeedDate 2012-02-23 11:08:14 Morgan Clear
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

"Unauthorized billings + many fake members"

Summary

The Good: Original and sleek website; lots of big pictures of members
The Bad: Most “members” appear to be fake, fake winks, fake “likes”; the site has a history of billing users without their consent
The Bottom Line: The site looks good, but we cannot recommend SpeedDate as it is nothing more than an empty shell, with questionable billing practices to boot.
Editor Rating
 
2.4
Terrible
Member Choice 
 
1.0
Match & Search 
 
2.0
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Privacy & Safety 
 
1.0
Help & Support 
 
1.0

Reviewed by:

Reviewed on:
February 23, 2012
Last updated:
February 23, 2012

Detailed Review

Speed Dating for the web

SpeedDate is a website that specializes in, you guessed it, speed dates. What that means, translated online, is that you get 5 minutes chats with members. This gives you a chance to see if you hit it off, and you can take it from there.

A pretty neat idea, but does the site delivers? We tried to find out in this review, so read on.

The website looks promising, but…

We found that registration to SpeedDate is quick and easy. You first enter your own details (age, height, location etc) then your requirements for a date. As you point out what you look for, you have the option each time to say how important this is for you, by clicking either one of two boxes, either “nice to have” or “must have” (see pic) .

In “what are you looking for”, SpeedDate gives you a lot of options, from Casual Encounters to FriendShips to Marriage (see pic). We liked this as new users will not feel boxed in any particular need, and they have the freedom to find people with the same goals.

SpeedDate quite impressed us with the quality of its interface. Little help screens pop up here and there to tell you what to do next and where to go. Navigation is simple and the site looks clean and sleek.

Search is very much focused on pictures, as that’s mostly what you see as results, a big page full of profile pictures of various members. This can feel a bit shallow, but at least you cut to the chase and can choose someone you feel attracted to. From there, you can visit their profile, or invite them to a SpeedDate. When the person is online, you can go on a SpeedDate with them instantly, which means a little window opens and you can start chatting with them for 5 minutes.

Again, this is pretty sleek, and you get “Icrebreakers“ suggested to you in the chat window. (see pic) You also get another little window in the bottom right corner of your screen with options for more people to chat with (see pic)

So far, so good, unfortunately the good part stops here.

The site is an empty shell

While browsing profiles, our alarm bells started ringing. We quickly realized that many profiles are completely empty of personal information. As professional reviewers of dating sites, we recognize this as a bad sign. Usually, it means that most of the profiles have been automatically set up, in other words, that they are fake.

The people who show up to chat with you either do not reply at all (which again, suggests they are not real), or try to lead you to another (paid) site to see sexy webcams.

You also get quite a lot of people who suddenly 'like' you… but you can't see who it is until you pay (see pic). You get people offering to chat with you…but you have to pay first. How many of these “interested” people are real is anyone’s guess, but based on our experience with such practices, it didn’t look good to us.

Beware of unauthorized billings!
In addition, many of our readers have reported to us abusive billing practices, such as:
-SpeedDate billing their account month after month even after cancellation, and in spite of many emails of protest
-SpeedDate offering to charge $3.95 to “verify” their account, then billing $161.70 for a 6 month membership without their consent
-SpeedDate billing $191.40 for an entire year even though users had chosen a monthly cancellable subscription at $39.95 per month

Conclusion

We suggest you to be careful and NOT give your credit card details to SpeedDate. We recommend you check our top Editor Ranked websites, such as Match, Chemistry or eHarmony, which are more reputable sites with real users and real perks.

Go to SpeedDate

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
 

Stats on SpeedDate

SpeedDate.com was created by two Stanford graduates (Dan Abelon and Simon Tisminezky) in late 2007.

The dating site took the concept of speed dating that was popularized offline in the 90s and put it online via 5 minute long chat sessions.

The company has patented i...  See Full Summary
SpeedDate's
Accreditation
  • BBB
  • Verisign

Membership Base Size

Active Members Estimate: 4,200,000

Male vs. Female Member Breakout: 45% men | 55% women

Geographic & Language Coverage:

North America:
  • U.S.A.
  • Canada
Language(s):
English

Relationship Type, Status and Needs Served:

Relationship Status(es): Single
Relationship Type(s): Straight
Looking For: Dating
(Learn how our estimates are created)
Last Updated: February 23, 2012

Free vs. Paid Access to Features

You can access 60% of the functionality on this site before payment is required.
(See feature breakout)

Subscription Payment Options

Basic service: Free.

Premium service:
• 1 month subscription $39.95
• 3 month subscription $89.85 ($29.95/ month)
• 6 month subscription $161.7 ($26.95/ month)
• 12 month subscription $191.4 ($15.95/ month)

Benefits of Premium Upgrade

The premium upgrade for SpeedDate.com provides the following benefits:
· Messaging: Unrestricted sending and receiving of email messages.
· Chat: Unlimited time on chat so you can stay chatting with people you like (normally restricted to 5 minutes) and more functionality in the chat interface to make it easier to use.
· Search Results Rankings: Get ranked higher on search results so more people find you.

Accepted Payment Methods

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express
  • Discover
  • Paypal
  • JCB

Pricing Data Last Updated: February 23, 2012

Feature When You Can Access it
Free
Unregistered
Free
Registered
Paid
Basic
Paid
Premium
N/A
Match & Search
1. Search Profiles
2. Match Assessment/ Personality Test
Creating & Viewing Profiles
3. View Partial Profile
4. View Full Profile
5. Create Profile
Communication & Messaging
6. Send/ Receive Messages
(Restricted)
7. Send/ Receive Messages
(Unrestricted)
8. Send Icebreakers
(Flirt/ Winks/ Pokes/ Gifts)
9. Chat/ Instant Messaging
10. Video Chat
11. Forums/ Discussion Groups
Privacy & Safety
12. Block Other Members
13. View Who Visits Your Profile
14. Hide Visits to Others Profiles
Other Services
15. Dating Advice
16. People Nearby
Do you have a question about this dating site? Get it answered by our editors.
Send Dating Site Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted

User reviews for SpeedDate

2 User Review(s)

Average User Rating

 
1.0
Share your thoughts with other users:
Ratings (the higher the better)
Member Choice*  
How large? How active? How relevant is the membership base?
Match & Search*  
How effective is matching and searching for the right person?
Ease of Use*  
How easy is the interface to use? Does it facilitate or hinder communication?
Privacy & Safety*  
How secure is the service? Can you protect your privacy?
Help & Support*  
Is the support responsive? Do they provide helpful advice?
Main Review Field
Type your review into the area below.
Are you male or female?
 Male
 Female
    Please enter the security code.
 

Most Helpful User Reviews

 
SpeedDate 2012-02-25 11:09:33 Solidaire
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
1.0

"Speedate is a joke"

Reviewed by Solidaire on February 25, 2012
LIKE YOU SAID SPEED DATE IS A JOKE DON4T SIGN UP BECAUSE THEY WILL TAKE ADVANTAGE OF YOU FOR SURE. IT HAPPENED TO ME AND I AM POSTING EVERYWHERE ONLINE TO WARM PEOPLE AGAINST THIS SHIT SITE. SHAME ON THEM

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
SpeedDate 2012-02-24 11:41:12 Nicholas67
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
1.0

"That was close..."

Reviewed by Nicholas67 on February 24, 2012
Well i'm glad i read your review i was about to buy a membership there. Guess i'll go check your rankings now.. *_*

is it on the homepage?


Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)