OkCupid     

Owning Company: InterActiveCorp (IAC)
OkCupid

Editor Rating

 
5.8
Average

Av. User Rating

Price:
Free Basic/ Paid Premium
(See full details)

Editor review

OkCupid 2012-02-21 17:17:46 Morgan Clear
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

"Probably the best free dating site, but a bit too racy for some"

Summary

The Good: Smart userbase; millions of users; clean interface; good matching tools and customized search; lots of fun quizzes
The Bad: Sexually-charged questions and quizzes could put some people off; time-consuming to set up as you need to answer many questions; no audio/video chatting; limited userbase outside of the US; userbase skewed towards the young and urban
The Bottom Line: If you prefer to use a free site, and don’t mind the sometimes racy questions you’ll get, OKCupid is one of the top choices for free online dating.
Editor Rating
 
5.8
Average
Member Choice 
 
5.0
Match & Search 
 
7.0
Ease of Use 
 
6.0
Privacy & Safety 
 
8.0
Help & Support 
 
2.0

Reviewed by:

Reviewed on:
February 21, 2012
Last updated:
February 27, 2012

Detailed Review

Member Quality & Choice:

OkCupid’s image is fun and quirky, so the audience tends to be a bit younger, open-minded and more nerdy than average (compared to plentyoffish.com or match.com for example, which are a bit more mainstream). However, OKCupid now is one of the biggest free dating site in the world, so there are plenty of older people in their fourties and fifties as well. The audience however remain skewed towards the young and urban.

Many of the profiles are well-written, and most users clearly spend some time on them, giving you quite a lot to read and take in. Most profiles also have multiples photos.).

Okcupid is mostly famous in the US, so one downside is that the choice of people will be much more limited if you live outside of the United States.

As a free site, OkCupid also does not have money to invest in ads, so not so many new members sign up every week, compared to the big paid sites such as eHarmony or Match (see our review of eHarmony and Match).

Matching / Searching:

OkCupid really shines with its matching algorythm. It has thousands of interesting questions you can answer at your own pace.The goal is to match users based on their personalties.

Some questions are generated by OkCupid’s staff, but the majority are created by users. This makes for more interesting / crazy questions, but some might also offend you if you are on the conservative side.

Some questions are quite standard (“Are you a cat person or a dog person?”), some are just quirky (“Are you fond of late night walks to no place in particular?”), but quite a few get graphic and sexual (“Have you ever had sex in a place where there was a high risk of being caught?”), so keep that in mind if it might bother you. All in all, we would say that answering questions on OkCupid is quite a fun experience!

Based on your answers, an algorythm will match you with other users in your area (or all over the world).

You’ll get a precise match percentage, so you can see that you match someone at 83%, for example. The more questions you answer, the more accurate this gets. We suggest you to be very honest when answering the questions, so that your matches will be accurate later. This is not about writing what you think people want to hear, but about showing your real personality and quirks.

During our tests, we found the algorythm to work well, if you make the effort to answer a few hundred questions. If you talk to someone who matches you at 95%, it often feels like talking to a long-lost friend.

Many users, however, do not answer many questions and browses simply based on profile text and pictures.

You can freely search for other users in your area, or all over the world. You can use a wide variety of filters (age, religion, education, location, recent activity, etc) to find the right match for you.

When browsing a profile, you can see the date the person last came to the site. You also can see if the person replies often or selectively to messages. This gives you an idea of how approachable they are, and you can decide if you want to give them a shot.

Ease of Use:

OkCupid’s website is very ease to use. The interface is clean and intuitive. The chat function is a bit outdated and lagging. There is also no option for audio or video chat.

If you choose to, you can make your OkCupid profile interact with your Facebook profile.

Limitation without paid upgrade:

Your inbox will get full quite quickly and you will need to keep deleting messages in order to receive new ones. Other people can also see when you visit their profile. A paid upgrade gets rid of this for only $4,95 per month.Paid members do not see ads and have more filtering options.

Privacy / Safety:

It’s easy to block a user if you are getting annoyed or harassed.

You can also choose to “hide” a user in the search results, so you never get to see their profile again. This is quite a time-saver as people will change their profile picture often and you could visit the same profile again and again, thinking it is the same person. Instead, just hide the user and you’ll never have to see their profile again.

Our conclusion:

Although it does have its share of problems, OKCupid is one of the good free sites out there. We would recommend it over its main free competitor, Plenty Of Fish , but we also think paid options can be time-savers and connect you with more serious, committed members; for these options see our reviews of Match and eHarmony.

Go to OkCupid

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
 

Stats on OkCupid

OkCupid, founded in 2001, is one of the largest freemium dating sites (by size of membership base).

Besides being free the service is also well known for its use of hundreds of optional short questions and answers and 'analytics' to match people together on the site. The idea bein...  See Full Summary
OkCupid's
Accreditation
None

Membership Base Size

Active Members Estimate: 1,900,000

Male vs. Female Member Breakout: 57% men | 43% women

Geographic & Language Coverage:

North America:
  • U.S.A.
  • Canada
Europe:
Language(s):
English

Relationship Type, Status and Needs Served:

Relationship Status(es): Single
Relationship Type(s):
  • Straight
  • Gay
  • Lesbian
  • Transsexual
Looking For:
  • Dating
  • Hookup/ Casual Sex
(Learn how our estimates are created)
Last Updated: February 14, 2012

Free vs. Paid Access to Features

You can access 93% of the functionality on this site before payment is required.
(See feature breakout)

Subscription Payment Options

Basic service: Free.

Premium service:
• 1 month subscription $9.95

Benefits of Premium Upgrade

The premium area of OkCupid is called the "A-List" service. A-listing your OkCupid account enables some additional functionalities to make it easier to use the site. These include:
• Anonymous browsing of users without losing ability to see visitors to your profile
• Changing your username
• Viewing site without adverts
• Additional searching options and criteria
• Setting privacy levels for photo access
• Priority messaging: Send messages to users that have full inbox
• Ability to attach photos to messages
• Increased inbox storage capacity up to 5000 messages
• Saving search settings

Accepted Payment Methods

  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express

Pricing Data Last Updated: February 14, 2012

Feature When You Can Access it
Free
Unregistered
Free
Registered
Paid
Basic
Paid
Premium
N/A
Match & Search
1. Search Profiles
2. Match Assessment/ Personality Test
Creating & Viewing Profiles
3. View Partial Profile
4. View Full Profile
5. Create Profile
Communication & Messaging
6. Send/ Receive Messages
(Restricted)
7. Send/ Receive Messages
(Unrestricted)
8. Send Icebreakers
(Flirt/ Winks/ Pokes/ Gifts)
9. Chat/ Instant Messaging
10. Video Chat
11. Forums/ Discussion Groups
Privacy & Safety
12. Block Other Members
13. View Who Visits Your Profile
14. Hide Visits to Others Profiles
Other Services
15. Dating Advice
16. People Nearby

Site Screenshots

OkCupid
OkCupid
OkCupid
OkCupid
Do you have a question about this dating site? Get it answered by our editors.
Send Dating Site Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted

User reviews for OkCupid

5 User Review(s)

Average User Rating

 
4.3
Share your thoughts with other users:
Ratings (the higher the better)
Member Choice*  
How large? How active? How relevant is the membership base?
Match & Search*  
How effective is matching and searching for the right person?
Ease of Use*  
How easy is the interface to use? Does it facilitate or hinder communication?
Privacy & Safety*  
How secure is the service? Can you protect your privacy?
Help & Support*  
Is the support responsive? Do they provide helpful advice?
Main Review Field
Type your review into the area below.
Are you male or female?
 Male
 Female
    Please enter the security code.
 

Most Helpful User Reviews

 
OkCupid 2012-02-22 17:52:45 tracyIA
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
4.7

"Downhill"

Reviewed by tracyIA on February 22, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
OkCupid has been going downhill since Match.com bought them in 2011. The interesting people have moved on.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
OkCupid 2012-02-23 11:44:49 AZEric
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
5.0

"Snobbish people"

Reviewed by AZEric on February 23, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
OkCupid has a lot of snobbish people who think they are the sh*t, most don't even reply anyway. Thanks for nothing then, I'll go have fun elsewhere.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
OkCupid 2012-02-25 10:55:15 Cancelled
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
4.6

"Weird"

Reviewed by Cancelled on February 25, 2012
Spent a long time like 3 evenings filling in my profile and answering questions and it got cancelled without warning or explanation. Seriously what the hell okcupid!!?? The site was ok for the week I was there, but I'm not going back there again.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
OkCupid 2012-02-21 19:16:14 Beth
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
4.5

"Too many crazy questions!"

Reviewed by Beth on February 21, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
The site looks good, but I'm sorry my idea of fun isn't to get questions about my sex life!! again and again and again!! like how much sex partners I've had, if I like anal, if I want to be slapped during sex!! I mean what the hell?? Some of this stuff i never even thought about before!! Sorry OKcupid but you need to clean up your act!!

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
OkCupid 2012-02-25 13:38:49 jenny
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
2.8

"lame"

Reviewed by jenny on February 25, 2012
Meh. Okcupid is for hipsters with too much mustache, tattoos and STDs.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)