JDate.com     

Owning Company: Spark Networks, Inc.
JDate.com

Editor Rating

 
7.2
Very Good

Av. User Rating

Price:
$US 30.99 - 46.99/ month
depending on length of subscription
(See full details)

Editor review

JDate.com 2012-02-24 08:52:05 Morgan Clear
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

"The Best Option for Jewish-Focused Dating"

Summary

The Good: Quality membership; large userbase for a niche site; good matching tools specifically targeted at the Jewish audience
The Bad: Too many icons can get a bit confusing
The Bottom Line: The bottom line: Jdate is probably the best niche site for the Jewish audience. It gets our recommendation after careful reviewing of the options out there.
Editor Rating
 
7.2
Very Good
Member Choice 
 
8.0
Match & Search 
 
6.0
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Privacy & Safety 
 
7.0
Help & Support 
 
7.0

Reviewed by:

Reviewed on:
February 24, 2012
Last updated:
March 01, 2012

Detailed Review

A Clear Focus on the Jewish Community

Founded in 1997, JDate is now the most popular website for Jewish singles, with over 600,000 members in their database, and 10 to 20,000 users online at any hour of the day.

You do not have to be Jewish or practicing Judaism to join, and there are some non-Jews on the site. However, the site clearly targets Jewish singles, practicing or not.

Jdate's homepage


Upon registering to write this review, we were impressed by the thoroughness and specificity of the questionnaire. Jdate does not rely on a boilerplate survey as most dating sites do; they clearly went through a lot of effort to tailor their system to the Jewish audience.

For example, during the registration, you will be asked to specify your ethnicity (Ashkenazi, Sephardic, or other).

Jdate ethnicity question


As you go through the questionnaire, you will also be asked if you keep kosher, how often you go to synagogue, and you’ll be given no less than 15 options to specify your religious background (Orthodox, Reform, Hassidic, etc). This will not be all displayed on your profile but it can later be used by the site for refined matching.

Jdate.com religious background question


Everyone Is Welcome, Practicing Or Not

Again, because Jdate is not only for the religiously observant, there is always a non-practicing answer to each question; as well as practicing answers of various degrees. You can for example answer than you do not keep kosher, or that you do it at all times. You can answer than you never go to synagogue, or that you go at every Shabbat. The idea is to map out your values and to match you with someone whose lifestyle and outlook closely match yours.

Completing the rest of the profile is quick and painless, and more in line with other dating sites: you’ll write about your physical features and relationship preferences, and explain a bit more about yourself. You can also add a photo but that is optional, which we as reviewers can only regret (however, we later found out that most profiles on the site do have at least a picture).

Completing the whole profile will take about 15 minutes, by our estimate. Afterwards, you can head straight to search and take a look at your matches.

Searching for matches is straight-forward as on most dating sites; you can re-order results by join date, most active or most popular, or based on location. You can of course search for people based on the categories described above, from very religious to non-religious, practicing or not.

Jdate’s “Color Code” Test

JDate features its own unique test, the “Color Code” test. This analyzes your personality through your answers and the resulting analysis is quite informative; the test results can be displayed on your profile and is used for better matching.

Jdate's color code test


JDate has a number of additional services such as speed dating events, trips and local activities, including charity events. They also have JMag, an online magazine that offers dating advice and tips for members, and pretty active forums where the community interacts.

We found the site easy to navigate. Although the many icons can get a bit confusing, light bulb icons are there for you to click if you need help. JDate’s support can also be reached via email or even via a toll-free number, which is a nice touch.

Conclusion

We found Jdate’s membership quality to be very solid on average, featuring well-educated, urban singles of all ages. The male-to-female ratio is also excellent, almost 50-50. You’ll probably find a bit less members if you live in a rural community rather than a big urban center, but that is to be expected on such a niche website.

After reviewing other options for the Jewish audience in 2012, we found Jdate to be the most interesting site out there at this point. It has our recommendation.

Go to JDate.com

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
 

Stats on JDate.com

JDate is one of the better known and more popular Jewish Dating sites. Part of its popularity has been earned by its age, as in 2012 it has been operating for 15 years.

While the site targets specifically people of Jewish religion, it also attracts non-jews (and caters for them). N...  See Full Summary
JDate.com's
Accreditation
None

Membership Base Size

Active Members Estimate: 430,000

Male vs. Female Member Breakout: 53% men | 47% women

Geographic & Language Coverage:

North America:
  • U.S.A.
  • Canada
Europe: France
Language(s):
  • English
  • French (Français)
  • Hebrew (עברית)

Relationship Type, Status and Needs Served:

Relationship Status(es):
  • Single
  • Divorced
  • Widowed

Relationship Type(s): Straight
Looking For:
  • Dating
  • Long Term/ Serious Relationship
  • Marriage
  • Marriage & Children
(Learn how our estimates are created)
Last Updated: February 24, 2012

Free vs. Paid Access to Features

You can access 67% of the functionality on this site before payment is required.
(See feature breakout)

Basic Subscription Options

• 1 month subscription $46.99
• 3 month subscription $119.97 ($39.99/ month)
• 6 Month subscription $185.94 ($30.99/ month)

Accepted Payment Methods

  • Visa
  • American Express

Pricing Data Last Updated: February 24, 2012

Feature When You Can Access it
Free
Unregistered
Free
Registered
Paid
Basic
Paid
Premium
N/A
Match & Search
1. Search Profiles
2. Match Assessment/ Personality Test
Creating & Viewing Profiles
3. View Partial Profile
4. View Full Profile
5. Create Profile
Communication & Messaging
6. Send/ Receive Messages
(Restricted)
7. Send/ Receive Messages
(Unrestricted)
8. Send Icebreakers
(Flirt/ Winks/ Pokes/ Gifts)
9. Chat/ Instant Messaging
10. Video Chat
11. Forums/ Discussion Groups
Privacy & Safety
12. Block Other Members
13. View Who Visits Your Profile
14. Hide Visits to Others Profiles
Other Services
15. Dating Advice
16. People Nearby
Do you have a question about this dating site? Get it answered by our editors.
Send Dating Site Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted

User reviews for JDate.com

3 User Review(s)

Average User Rating

 
7.0
Share your thoughts with other users:
Ratings (the higher the better)
Member Choice*  
How large? How active? How relevant is the membership base?
Match & Search*  
How effective is matching and searching for the right person?
Ease of Use*  
How easy is the interface to use? Does it facilitate or hinder communication?
Privacy & Safety*  
How secure is the service? Can you protect your privacy?
Help & Support*  
Is the support responsive? Do they provide helpful advice?
Main Review Field
Type your review into the area below.
Are you male or female?
 Male
 Female
    Please enter the security code.
 

Most Helpful User Reviews

 
JDate.com 2012-02-25 10:44:54 Jonathan
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
7.9

"Good tool for the busy person"

Reviewed by Jonathan on February 25, 2012
My mother bought me a one-year membership for Valentine's day (I know, I know...). I've had 2 quick coffee dates in the last week, both very decent and smart women, and I'm messaging a few more. I would have never tried this by myself but I'm really warming up to this online dating thing. Definitely a good tool for the busy person who doesn't want to lower his or her standards.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
JDate.com 2012-02-24 11:56:25 EstherPPA
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
7.2

"Takes work if you have high standards, but what is new?"

Reviewed by EstherPPA on February 24, 2012
Jdate is quite good, easy to use, easy to set up. I'm getting a few messages a week without doing anything, with the occasional one that gets me interested. Matches from the system are not that good IMO, so I find browsing profiles by myself is best. I travel a lot, usually weekdays, so I find myself chatting and messaging in the evenings in my hotel room, and I set up dates for the weekend. I guess that's 21st century dating for ya.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
JDate.com 2012-02-27 19:03:48 ladyinblue
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
5.9

"mixed bag of matches, but still recommended"

Reviewed by ladyinblue on February 27, 2012
Mixed bag of matches so I just browsed profiles by myself and I would suggest you do the same.

Lots of people looking for relationships, better than most sites where casual sex seems to be the main focus.

I found a keeper on my second month.


Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)