eHarmony     

Owning Company: eHarmony Inc.
eHarmony

Editor Rating

 
7.9
Very Good

Av. User Rating

Price:
$US 19.95 - 59.95/ month
depending on length of subscription
(See full details)

Editor review

eHarmony 2012-02-10 15:59:16 Morgan Clear
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful

"A Solid Option for Serious Relationships or Marriage"

Summary

The Good: Famous brand; advertisements keep bringing new members ; easy set up; clean, modern interface; good guides and tips; thorough matching questionaire and scientific matching tools; quality members looking for serious relationships
The Bad: Long set-up when you register (about 60 mins); no free profile browsing (you can only see matches chosen for you by eharmony)
The Bottom Line: Eharmony has a much more controlled environement compared to other dating sites. This approach has its pros and cons. What you lose in freedom, you gain in ease-of-use and a serious, commited audience. Eharmony is not the best choice for casual daters, but possibly the best option for serious people looking for a long-term relationship or marriage.
Editor Rating
 
7.9
Very Good
Member Choice 
 
8.0
Match & Search 
 
8.0
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Privacy & Safety 
 
8.0
Help & Support 
 
7.0

Reviewed by:

Reviewed on:
February 10, 2012
Last updated:
March 11, 2012

Detailed Review

One of the biggest sites on the web

Eharmony was one of the pioneers in online dating, and is one of the biggest paid dating site on the web. According to the New York Times, its matchmaking is responsible for about 2 percent of the marriages in America, or nearly 120 weddings a day.

eHarmony.com homepage


Scientific approach to dating

Neil Clark Warren, founder of eHarmony, is a clinical pscychologist and has a scientific approach to dating. He has counselled thousands of couples and conducted research on why people marry, why they stay married, and why they are happy or unhappy in their relationship. He conducted over 500 "divorce autopsies", interviewing the former spouses and their kids.

His key discovery: 70% of the divorcees were experiencing problems from the very beginning. As a result, Neil went on a quest to help people select a life mate in a more modern, sophisticated way –and the result is EHarmony.

A controlled environment

Eharmony features a more controlled, regulated environment than most sites. This is a website for grownups, and for those who are serious about finding love. You are guided along a path for most of the experience and cannot deviate too much from it. There is good and bad in this, as we’ll see in our tests.

The first thing we liked on Eharmony is its nice, modern interface, which is very Facebook-like and clean. This is a welcome change compared to many dating sites, which seem stuck in the 90’s when it comes to site navigation.

Without a subscription, you cannot see profile pictures or send a message to members, which means eharmony is a website where you must pay to play. Once subscribed, you can email members directly or use the “Guided Communication” feature, where you answer first a series of question chosen by the person you are interested in. This is a popular option on eHarmony, and you will receive quite a lot of messages asking you to break the ice this way.



eHarmony questions sent by matches


The “secret sauce”: eHarmony’s compatibility questionaire

When you register, you have to go through the eHarmony compatibility questionaire, which we found takes quite a while (about 60 to 90 minutes depending on your pace). You can do this at your own pace though, saving your answers and continuing later. But you can’t access the site until you are done.

This is the “secret sauce” of eHarmony, because it feeds a complex algorythm (which received a US patent), working behind the scenes to match you with people whose answers closely match yours. The questionaire is based on factors which predict relationship success and analyze areas critical to happiness and a fulfilling relationship/marriage. It features tens of questions on your character, intellect, hobbies, values, etc.

eHarmony Questionaire


This “forced” approach has its advantages: once you are done, eharmony now has the data it needs to effectively match you with its members. Compare this to many sites where you are not forced to do anything, yet many people end up with an empty profile and no questions answered. Here you have no choice but to commit to revealing the details of your personality and desires. Not everyone can see your answers, but they help eharmony to select your good matches for you.

Upon registering, you get a nice help guide showing you tips on what to do and how to complete a good profile in your own words.You also get to updload your pictures, and again it is quite controlled. We found you shouldn’t try to upload anything too crazy or too creative or it won’t be approved. Eharmony wants a simple, clean-cut picture…of you.

You can also read your personality test, which is a detailed and informative analysis what makes you tick, based on your answers.

eHarmony personality report


Time-saving?

One particularity of eHarmony is that you can’t openly browse through members profile. You can only see the profiles that eharmony suggests for you, based on the personality tests. This obviously won’t please everyone, as you lose quite a bit of freedom, and some see browsing profiles as fun. However, the positive side is you’ll only talk with people who are quite likely to be a good match with you. You are not wasting time browsing profile who are not good for you, and your inbox is not clogged by one-liners from people mass-messaging hundreds of profiles.

Within 2 days, I had received 36 matches in my area, so there is certainly more than enough to keep busy (Update: I've now seen hundreds of profiles this month!). The matches were quite accurate; in other words, they were people who had much in common with me in terms of values and outlook in life. The algorythm took a lot of the guesswork out of the equation. When a match has previously seen your profile and expressed interest, you’ll see a “Match Requests Communication” icon to suggest you give them priority.

eHarmony.com - matches requesting communication


There is some flexibility and guarantee with the eHarmony Premier membership: if you haven’t found a match during your initial 12 month subscription, eharmony will extend it for up to 12 months. You can also pause your service once for up to 3 months if you want to take a break or need to travel.
Recommendation

eHarmony is a solid option for those looking to save time, and/or those looking for serious relationships or marriage. It has our recommendation.

Go to eHarmony

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
 

Stats on eHarmony

eHarmony was founded in 1997 by Dr. Neil Clark Warren, a psychologist with 35 years clinical experience in marriage and relationship counseling.

It differs from other dating sites because of its focus on long-term relationships (and marriage) and extensive use of personality assess...  See Full Summary
eHarmony's
Accreditation
  • BBB
  • Truste
  • Verisign

Membership Base Size

Active Members Estimate: 4,600,000

Male vs. Female Member Breakout: 36% men | 64% women

Geographic & Language Coverage:

Language(s):
English

Relationship Type, Status and Needs Served:

Relationship Status(es): Single
Relationship Type(s): Straight
Looking For:
  • Long Term/ Serious Relationship
  • Marriage
(Learn how our estimates are created)
Last Updated: February 10, 2012

Free vs. Paid Access to Features

You can access 11% of the functionality on this site before payment is required.
(See feature breakout)

Basic Subscription Options

• 1 month subscription $59.95
• 3 month subscription $119.85 ($39.95/ month)
• 6 Month subscription $179.7 ($29.95/ month)
• 12 month subscription $239.4 ($19.95/ month)

Accepted Payment Methods

  • Visa
  • Mastercard

Pricing Data Last Updated: February 13, 2012

Feature When You Can Access it
Free
Unregistered
Free
Registered
Paid
Basic
Paid
Premium
N/A
Match & Search
1. Search Profiles
2. Match Assessment/ Personality Test
Creating & Viewing Profiles
3. View Partial Profile
4. View Full Profile
5. Create Profile
Communication & Messaging
6. Send/ Receive Messages
(Restricted)
7. Send/ Receive Messages
(Unrestricted)
8. Send Icebreakers
(Flirt/ Winks/ Pokes/ Gifts)
9. Chat/ Instant Messaging
10. Video Chat
11. Forums/ Discussion Groups
Privacy & Safety
12. Block Other Members
13. View Who Visits Your Profile
14. Hide Visits to Others Profiles
Other Services
15. Dating Advice
16. People Nearby
Do you have a question about this dating site? Get it answered by our editors.
Send Dating Site Inquiry
 The form could not be submitted

User reviews for eHarmony

5 User Review(s)

Average User Rating

 
8.3
Share your thoughts with other users:
Ratings (the higher the better)
Member Choice*  
How large? How active? How relevant is the membership base?
Match & Search*  
How effective is matching and searching for the right person?
Ease of Use*  
How easy is the interface to use? Does it facilitate or hinder communication?
Privacy & Safety*  
How secure is the service? Can you protect your privacy?
Help & Support*  
Is the support responsive? Do they provide helpful advice?
Main Review Field
Type your review into the area below.
Are you male or female?
 Male
 Female
    Please enter the security code.
 

Most Helpful User Reviews

 
eHarmony 2012-02-22 18:02:56 Melody
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
8.8

"Compatible"

Reviewed by Melody on February 22, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
The compatibility test of eHarmony really works, the only thing is, you still need chemistry. And the guy you have chemistry with may not be in your immediate area. For me this didn't matter so much, love is more important, so eventually I relocated (200 miles away) to be with the right person. Love trumps all!!

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
eHarmony 2012-02-11 00:02:33 Sam
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
8.6

"Works for me!"

Reviewed by Sam on February 11, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
I've tried a few of the dating services and this is the one I've ended up coming back to. I find that the quality of people and their motivations is better than most. By that I mean that people are more serious on this site - so if you have been looking for that like me, then it would be a good option.

For me it's all about the people on these sites - and this is where eharmony is better than most.


Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
eHarmony 2012-02-21 19:09:23 Ben
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
9.1

"Easy!"

Reviewed by Ben on February 21, 2012
Last updated: February 25, 2012
I tried a few other sites, but seriously, who wants to browse profiles for hours on end? I'm a busy professional and if I'm going to pay for a membership, I want the website to do something for me, not just give me millions of profiles and wish me luck.

I found that's exactly what Eharmony does. I didn't browse at all, I just sat back and look at the matches submitted to me. Most were interesting, and after 2 months I found my current partner. We'll see how it goes with her, but the compatibility clearly is there, so the matching worked.


Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
eHarmony 2012-02-23 11:32:45 Jn
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Male
 
8.7

"It's manageable"

Reviewed by Jn on February 23, 2012
Last updated: February 24, 2012
I was a bit unsure and skeptical at first, but I like eHarmony. On other sites frankly I get overwhelmed by the millions of profiles, you never know when to stop looking, you always wonder if the perfect person isn't right around the corner, if you just invest a little more time!

On eharmony I only have to look at the few matches they send me every day. And usually they are at least compatible. That's something I can manage and it doesn't add extra stress to my life (which I DEFINITELY don't need!!).

Thumbs up!


Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)
eHarmony 2013-06-05 05:29:34 Meg
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful
Female
 
6.3

"The key is chemistry"

Reviewed by Meg on June 05, 2013
Chemistry is important and I wonder if someone good is not being revealed to me b/c of the questionnaire. In the real world we do not meet that way. If you lacked one quality in the profile questionnaire I would not be matched with you and that's too bad. Match gives you more opportunity. Like some of the privacy features.

Help other users find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?
 Reply to this review (0)